DAMN IT ALL

DAMN IT ALL
© Destiny Buss / CYU Publishing

Damn you / Damn me / Damn the chains / That make us free /
Damn this life / And the one to come / Damn decisions / That hurt someone / Oh damn it all

And I’m sick of you / And I’m sick of me / And I’m sick of things / That make us free / And I’m tired of what’s right / Tired of the fight / Tired of abstaining from a fire that wants to ignite / Oh damn it all

And you say that if we only knew / Of the things to come we’d be true / And you say that no eye can behold / The glory of the LORD but it’s getting old

Fight – Fight – Fight – But what are we fighting for
Fight – Fight – Fight – For every slamming door
Fight – Fight – Fight – But what are we fighting for

We’ll Fight – We’ll Fight – We’ll Fight – We know what we’re fighting for
We’ll Fight – We’ll Fight – We’ll Fight – For every open door – Oh damn it all

Good morning, warriors,
Ever felt like that? I certainly have which is why I wrote it. Not only do we struggle in the fight for the things that we as Christians know are right, but then there’s the human aspect; the internal battle of our sentient frailty.

Then I said, “I will not make mention of Him, nor speak anymore in His name.” But His word was in my heart like a burning fire Shut up in my bones; I was weary of holding it back, and I could not.” Jeremiah 20:9

Embarrassingly I admit, I have had this same tantrum(s) as Jeremiah. I have ‘threatened’ the LORD with abstinence of voice in speaking or writing the words that HE’S placed inside of me. I have hollered, screamed, and demanded that HE change the whatever that was causing me such grief only to find that no amount of disdain or discord on my part would move GOD’S Hand or Heart.

Beloved, never desire to hurry time, for it will move as it is designed to and all things ordered will arrive as intended.

We know so many in ministry who after many years of seemingly ‘fighting the good fight of faith,’ have given up and renounced their willingness to press forward. For some, (as in myself), it’s always a momentary tantrum, and for others, sadly, it has become the stepping stone to their path of failure.

STRIPES OF STRIFE:

When I was in my teens I looked up to a certain pastor and as I aged, I found that he was one of the few who could actually minister to me: He was deep and real, the two things it takes to reach me.

As the years went by, it was evident to all that he was getting tired and bitter. People would often make excuses for him as if he somehow earned his stripes of strife, and at some point I couldn’t even stand being around him. I later found out that he and his wife were leading a very compromising life and it all made sense; his downward spiral came from hidden sin.

It is true, lovelies, that we are in a real battle. The word says that we are to fight (maintain your cause) the good fight of faith. Faith is not evil, faith is not your enemy, and faith is not a crutch. Faith is tangible, faith is alive, and your faith will see you through.

The next time you feel overwhelmed and alone, remember to call upon The ONE who stands at your side:

“A man who has friends must himself be friendly, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” Proverbs 18:24

HERE’S THE NUGGET FROM KING DAVID:

7 Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence? 8 If I ascend into heaven, you are there; if I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. 9 If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, 10 even there Your hand shall lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,” even the night shall be light about me; 12 indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You, but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to You.” Psalm 139:7-12

Blessings, Destiny / C Y U

